San Jacinto College District Board Meeting Minutes

July 6, 2015

The Board of Trustees of the San Jacinto Community College District met at 7:00 p.m., Monday, July 6, 2015, in Room 104 of the Thomas S. Sewell District Administration Building, 4624 Fairmont Parkway, Pasadena, Texas, for the Regular Board Meeting.

Board of Trustees: Marie Flickinger

Brad Hance

Dan Mims, Chair

John Moon, Jr., Secretary

Keith Sinor, Assistant Secretary

Dr. Ruede Wheeler

Larry Wilson, Vice Chair

Chancellor: Brenda Hellyer

Others Present: Gary Alston Kevin McKisson

Richard Bailey Catherine O'Brien
Dean Barnes Alexander Okwonna

Rhonda Bell Jeff Parks
Teri Crawford Cody Pogue
Suzanne DeBlanc Christina Potts
William Dickerson Bill Raffetto
Bill Dowell Shelley Rinehart
Amanda Fenwick Randhir Sahni
Maria Gallegos Marina Schneider

Shari Goldstein Cody Seals George Gonzalez Shawn Silman Rebecca Goosen Deborah Smith Allatia Harris **Rob Stanicic** Clare Iannelli Joe Tedesco Sallie Kay Janes Tabatha Tufts Brenda Jones Van Wigginton Ruth Keenan Laurel Williamson

Tami Kelly

Ann Kokx-Templet Tanya Madrigal Nicholas Martin Elizabeth McKinley Call the Meeting to order:

Chair Dan Mims called the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call of Board Members: Marie Flickinger Brad Hance John Moon, Jr. Keith Sinor Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson

Invocation and Pledges to the Flags:

The invocation was given by Van Wigginton. The pledges to the American flag and the Texas flag were led by Marie Flickinger.

Special Announcements, Recognitions, and Presentations: There were no special announcements, recognitions, or presentations.

Student Success Presentation:

- 1. Dr. Bill Raffetto introduced the presenters for the Phi Theta Kappa Accomplishments. Elizabeth McKinley recognized Laurel Williamson for receiving the Phi Theta Kappa Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction. Tanya Madrigal, Cody Pogue, Nicholas Martin, and Elizabeth McKinley presented the chapter achievements.
- 2. George González presented the Spring KI dashboard updates.

Communications to the Board:

- 1. A thank you note was sent to the Board from Barbara McLendon, for the plant sent in memory of her father.
- 2. A thank you note was send to the Board from Gretchen Rapp, for the plant send in memory of her mother.

Hearing of Such Citizens or Groups of Citizens Desiring to be Heard Before the Board: There were no citizens desiring to be heard before the Board.

Informative Reports:

Dan Mims indicated such reports were in the board documents.

Motion 9631 Consideration of Approval of Amendment to the 2014-2015 Budget for Restricted Motion was made by Marie Flickinger, seconded by John Moon, Jr., for Approval of Amendment to the 2014-2015 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants.

Motion Carried.

Revenue and **Expenses Relating** to Federal and State Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler

Navs: None

Motion 9632 **Consideration of** Approval of an Articulation

Grants

Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for approval of an Articulation Agreement Between San Jacinto Community College District and University of Houston College of Engineering. Dr. Tedesco spoke on behalf of the University of Houston College of Engineering and participated in a signing ceremony with Chancellor Hellyer.

Agreement Between San Jacinto

Community College

District and University of

Houston College of

Engineering

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler

Nays: None

Motion 9633 Consideration of **Authorization to** Negotiate the **Transfer of SCBA** Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Brad Hance, for Authorization to Negotiate the Transfer of SCBA Equipment and Parts From the City of La Porte.

(Self-contained

breathing apparatus)

Equipment and Parts From the City of La Porte

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler

Navs: None

Motion 9634 **Assignments for Board Committees** and San Jacinto **College Foundation** For Information Only

Informational item. Dan Mims announced the committee members and SJCF Board members.

As Chairman, Dan Mims will serve on both Building and Finance

Committees.

Finance Committee: Dr. Ruede Wheeler(Chair), John Moon, Jr., Larry

Wilson

Building Committee: Marie Flickinger(Chair), Brad Hance, Keith Sinor

Foundation Board: Dr. Ruede Wheeler and Larry Wilson

No vote needed.

Motion 9635 Consideration of Construction **Requests**

Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Brad Hance, for approval of the construction requests.

Construction Request #1 -

Architectural Services

\$2,554,625

Construction Request #2 – Change Order to Architecture Contract for North	
Campus Center for Industrial Technology	123,420
Construction Request #3 Programming Services	<u>114,500</u>
Total:	\$2,792,545
Motion Carried.	
Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None	
Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Keith Sinor, approval of the purchasing requests.	, for
RFP 15-14 Bank Depository and Merchant Credit Card Services	\$500,000
RFP 15-12 Flood Insurance Agent	171,608
RFP 15-16	110 207
Student Athletic Insurance	110,287
Purchase Request #1 Additional Funds for Interpreting Services	400,000
Purchase Request #2 Energy Conservation Measures	160,000
Purchase Request #3 Additional Funds for Asphalt and Concrete Services	80,000
Purchase Request #4	
Ratification of Administration West Building Substantial Completion	<u>640,000</u>
Total:	1,421,895

Motion 9636 Consideration of Purchasing Requests

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler

Nays: None

Motion 9637 Consent Agenda Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Brad Hance, to

approve the consent agenda.

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler

Nays: None

Adjournment: Meeting Adjourned at 7:26 p.m.